Broadcast partners sign up for 2015 Caribbean Premier League

The Caribbean Premier League Twenty20 cricket competition has said it is set for a significantly enhanced reach this season after confirming the list of global broadcast partners for its 2015 edition.

At present, the agreements in place for the tournament are with pay television operators, while a broadcast partner in Pakistan and Bangladesh is expected to be confirmed before the action begins on June 20. The final will take place on July 26 in Trinidad.

Sony Six holds the rights to the CPL in India, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Nepal and the Maldives; with ESPN covering the United States and the Caribbean. Fox Sports, OSN, Sky, SuperSport and BT Sport will show CPL games in Australia, the Middle East, New Zealand, South Africa and the UK respectively.

Trinidadian company Guardian Media Limited also holds rights to the CPL across the Caribbean.

CPL chief executive Damien O’Donohoe said global viewing figures for the event increased from 35 million to 65 million in 2014, while the 2015 broadcasting agreements are set to grant it a potential global reach of 200 million.