BT Sport snaps up rights to Caribbean Premier League

UK pay-television broadcaster BT Sport has agreed a two-year rights deal for exclusive live coverage in the UK and Ireland of the Caribbean Premier League Twenty20 cricket tournament.

BT Sport will provide live coverage – in prime time – of all 30 matches in the tournament, which this year runs from July 11 until August 16. Additionally, each match will be repeated as a one-hour highlights show throughout the tournament.

BT Sport’s CPL coverage will commence on July 11 with the opening clash of the 2014 competition between Amazon Warriors and Hawksbills in Grenada.

The tournament features six teams from across eight Caribbean countries playing in eight venues including Guyana, Barbados, Grenada, Antigua, Trinidad, Jamaica, St Lucia and St Kitts. Former England batsman Kevin Pietersen turns out for the St Lucia Zouks franchise.