Digiturk agrees three-season deal for Euroleague rights

Digiturk, the beIN Media Group-owned pay-TV broadcaster, has agreed a three-season deal from 2019-20 onwards for the exclusive rights to Euroleague basketball in Turkey.

The deal was agreed with the IMG agency which holds the international distribution rights as part of the 10-year deal it signed in 2016.

This coming season sees the number of teams competing in the Euroleague increase, from 16 to 18, meaning Digiturk will have the option to broadcast up to nine matches per matchweek.

The league features three Turkish teams in Fenerbahçe Beko, Anadolu Efes and Darüşşafaka Tekfen. The recent success of Fenerbahçe and Anadolu has driven basketball’s popularity in Turkey as both clubs featured in last season ‘Final Four’ stage, with Anadolu Efes finishing the season as runners-up to Spanish club Real Madrid.

Digiturk has held the rights to Euroleague basketball in Turkey since 2014 when it ousted commercial broadcaster NTV to agree a five-season deal.