DSport picks up Tie Break Tens rights

Indian pay-television channel DSport has acquired rights to the 2017 Tie Break Tens tennis event, which takes place in the Spanish city of Madrid tomorrow (Thursday).

The third edition of Tie Break Tens is being held ahead of the Mutua Madrid Open tournament, with men’s and women’s events running side-by-side and a new knock-out format used for the first time.

Former women’s world No.1 Maria Sharapova headlines the field in the first women’s event and will be joined by French Open champion Garbine Muguruza, world No.4 Simona Halep and Olympic champion Monica Puig.

In the men’s event, Kei Nishikori, Grigor Dimitrov and Feliciano Lopez form part of an eight-man field.

The quick-fire version of the sport sees players compete in a round-robin style tournament, with a winner-takes-all prize of $200,000 (€183,318).