Eurosport enhances Pro14 rights deal

International sports broadcaster Eurosport has expanded its rights deal for the Pro14 by adding a further 21 countries to its coverage of the rugby union club competition, which has included two new teams this season.

Eurosport has secured the rights to show the 2017-18 Pro14 in 62 countries and territories across Europe, while the Rugbypass and Setanta services owned by its parent company Discovery Communications will show the competition in Asia.

Eurosport became a Pro14 broadcast partner in 2016-17 and the new agreement will see Eurosport and Eurosport Player show all home and selected away games – if locally produced – featuring Italian teams. Eurosport Italia will hold exclusive rights to the competition, covering Benetton Rugby and Zebre’s games.

Eurosport will have exclusive live rights to the Pro14 in Europe in: Italy, Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Georgia, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Israel, Kosovo, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Malta, Moldova, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, San Marino, Spain, Sweden, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Turkey, Ukraine, Uzbekistan and the Vatican State.

Setanta Asia and Rugbypass will have exclusive rights to the Pro14 in: Bangladesh, Bhutan, Brunei, Cambodia, China, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Laos, Macau, Malaysia, Maldives, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan, Philippines, Singapore, South Korea, Sri Lanka, Taiwan, Thailand and Vietnam.

Martin Anayi, chief executive of Pro14 Rugby, said: “As a broadcast partner we were delighted to see what Eurosport could bring to the table during the last campaign. This year, Eurosport will broadcast even more games to supporters across Europe and Asia and we’re particularly excited that Guinness Pro14 games will be made available on the Eurosport Player.

“From a digital perspective sports fans are incredibly savvy and they are pushing the market to deliver more and more products like the Eurosport Player and it’s great to know that fans in over 60 countries will be able to access that.”

The Pro14 expanded for its 17th season with the addition of South Africa’s former Super Rugby franchises the Cheetahs and Southern Kings.