Fox Sports acquires rights to revamped Hockey Australia league

Pay-television broadcaster Fox Sports has partnered with Hockey Australia to support the launch of its new elite domestic league.

Hockey Australia has revamped both the men’s and women’s leagues to create a new competition – Hockey One – that will start later this year, replacing the Australian Hockey League.

Fox Sports will televise the Hockey One finals live, with streaming platform Kayo Sports set to serve as the main hub for the competition. Terms of the deal were not disclosed.

The first edition of Hockey One will feature seven new clubs based in Australia’s major cities playing home-and-away matches from late September. This is followed by a finals series in mid-November, with concurrent men’s and women’s competitions played in a double-header format.

The new clubs are Adelaide Fire, Brisbane Blaze, Canberra Chill, HC Melbourne, NSW Pride, Perth Thundersticks and Tassie Tigers.

Hockey Australia chief executive Matt Favier said: “The feedback we received from numerous surveys and research conducted in recent years with Australian hockey fans, players and officials has shown there is an appetite for a new approach to our domestic hockey league, much like other sports have adopted like cricket’s Big Bash League.”

Most recent

Amazon secured Women’s Tennis Association (WTA) Tour rights in the UK for the 2020-23 cycle with a bid nearly 60 per cent higher than incumbent pay-television broadcaster BT Sport's current fee, SportBusiness Media understands, as the tech and ecommerce giant moves to establish a dominant position in UK tennis broadcasting.

The Italian competition authority’s investigation into the sale of rights for Serie A is ostensibly a disaster for MP & Silva and B4 and a let-off for IMG. But MP & Silva and B4 are no longer active and IMG could yet face a major problem. The agency could be hit with a substantial damages claim by the league for lost earnings.

Pay-television broadcaster All Media Baltics used its pan-regional competitive advantage to retain  English Premier League’s rights in the Baltics without a hefty increase in cost.

DAZN picks up Copa América at bargain price as rivals focus elsewhere DAZN, Sky, Mediaset bid for International Champions Cup Rai to share Women’s World Cup with Sky, show Uefa U21s exclusively Pr