Masters Champions League strikes rights deal with Sony Six

Sony Pictures Networks India (SPN), formerly known as Multi Screen Media, has acquired exclusive broadcast rights in India and five other markets for the new Masters Champions League Twenty20 cricket tournament.

The inaugural edition of the MCL, which features retired legends of the world game, will take place in Dubai and Sharjah from January 28 to February 13.

Under the deal, SPN-owned pay-television channel Sony Six will broadcast all 18 games live in Afghanistan, Bhutan, the Maldives, Nepal and Sri Lanka, as well as India.

The acquisition of the MCL further adds to Sony Six’s line-up of live cricket T20 events which presently include the Indian Premier League, Karnataka Premier League, South Africa’s T20 Challenge and the Caribbean Premier League.

Six teams will compete in the MCL, with the opening fixture set to see Indian legends Sourav Ganguly and Virender Sehwag (pictured) clash as the Libra Legends take on the Gemini Arabians at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium.