Premier League deadline for German-speaking Europe

The English Premier League has today (October 1) received offers for its rights in German-speaking territories in Europe, with the bid deadline (between 10am and 12pm GMT) having now passed.

Bids for rights for three seasons, from 2019-20 to 2021-22, could be made in three broadcast territories:

  1. Germany and Austria together with Luxembourg
  2. Switzerland together with Liechtenstein
  3. Germany, Austria and Liechtenstein together with Switzerland and Luxembourg.

The Premier League will not consider any offer from a rights agency or intermediary. Any bidder which bids for ‘broadcast territory 3’ is required to make a separate individual bid for at least ‘1’ or ‘2’.

Premier League rights across the markets are currently held by digital media company DAZN Group, in a three-season deal, from 2016-17 to 2018-19.

Most recent

Uefa will go to market later this year with the rights to the Champions League and Europa League under pressure from Europe’s top clubs to at least maintain the kind of growth it enjoyed in the current cycle. But there are reasons why that will be a massive challenge.

Internet giant Amazon will pay more than public-service broadcaster France Télévisions for a substantially smaller package of rights to the French Open’s 2021-23 cycle.

Chinese social media giant Tencent saw off competition from rival streaming player Youku Tudou to retain the NBA’s digital rights in the country for the 2020-25 cycle at a record-breaking fee, underscoring the strong growth in China’s streaming market in recent years.

The German Bundesliga’s international sales and marketing arm, Bundesliga International, is set for a busy 12 months of media-rights sales as the league approaches the conclusion of deals across the Americas, Asia, Middle East and North Africa.