Sat.1 signs two-year DTM rights extension

German commercial broadcaster ProSiebenSat.1 has agreed a two-season extension to its rights deal with the DTM domestic touring cars series.

ProSiebenSat.1 currently holds rights to the DTM under a two-season deal, covering the 2018 and 2019 seasons, that was struck in December 2017. The extension will take this association through to the end of the 2021 season.

DTM’s umbrella organisation, ITR, struck the deal with 7Sports, the wholly-owned sports business unit of ProSiebenSat.1 Media. The new agreeement means the DTM will remain on flagship commercial channel Sat.1, which will show live coverage of every race on both Saturdays and Sundays.

In addition, the ran.de, and ran mobile app will offer live streaming of every free practice and qualifying session as well as a race live-stream with German commentary.

Public-service broadcaster ARD previously held the DTM’s rights across the 2016 and 2017 campaigns.

Sat.1 pulled in an average of 595,000 viewers during its first season of DTM race coverage, a fall of around 300,000 viewers per race compared to ARD’s average during its final season. This figure increased to an average of 616,000 per race during the 2019 campaign (excluding viewers of the live streams).

The seven-figure barrier was breached by Sat.1 during its coverage of the 2019 season’s final race from Hockenheim as an average of 1.01 million viewers (a 7.5-per-cent share). Sat.1’s figure peaked at 1.15 million viewers.

Sport1, the Constantin Medien-owned sports broadcaster, also currently holds rights to show a 30-minute highlights show on Sunday evenings.

Commenting on the new deal, ITR managing director Achim Kostron said: “The ‘ran racing’ presenters have given a radical new look to the DTM format, which has significantly increased the series’ media presence in our key target areas. The continuation of our partnership was a logical decision, and we look forward to working alongside Sat.1 to further develop and improve the DTM TV experience.”

The DTM’s 2020 season comprises 10 events; four in Germany, with a further six across Europe. The season starts on April 24-26 in Zolder, Belgium.