HomeNewsCricketUnited Kingdom

Sky confirms IPL rights deal

UK pay-television broadcaster BSkyB has agreed an exclusive three-year rights deal for the Indian Premier League covering the 2015, 2016 and 2017 seasons of the Twenty20 cricket competition.

Under the terms of the deal, Sky said it will broadcast 60 live games each year. The IPL joins its portfolio of national Twenty20 competitions, with Sky already holding rights to England’s T20 Blast, Australia’s Big Bash League and South Africa’s T20 Challenge.

The IPL said its agreement with Sky covers television, internet and mobile rights for the UK, Ireland, the Isle of Man, the Channel Islands and the “European territories.”

Commercial broadcaster ITV has televised the IPL in the UK for the past four seasons.