Sony acquires rights to women’s T20 Tri-Nation Series

Pay-television broadcaster Sony Pictures Networks has acquired media rights in India to the upcoming women’s T20 Tri-Nation Series in Australia, between Australia, England and India.

Sony will show exclusive live coverage on its Sony ESPN and Sony Six channels. The series takes place from January 31 to February 12, and features seven matches in total, played in Canberra and Melbourne.

The series is something of a warm-up for the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup, which takes place in Australia from February 21 to March 8. The rights for this competition and other ICC events are held by rival pay-television operator Star India.

The bigger, more powerful Star controls the two big cricket properties in India – ICC rights and Board of Control for Cricket in India rights. Sony focuses on smaller properties and international cricket, and has deals with the boards of Australia, England, South Africa, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and the West Indies, among others.