Sony Pictures Network India to show T10 Cricket League

The Sony Pictures Network India media group has acquired rights for the T10 Cricket League, a new franchise-based competition that will launch in the UAE next week.

The rights cover television and digital rights, according to the Indian Television news website.

The television coverage will be shown on the Sony ESPN channel, the report said.

The TCL will run from December 14-17 and feature contests of 10-overs-per-side that are designed to last no longer than 90 minutes.

The TCL is being staged by the Emirates Cricket Board and has been sanctioned by the International Cricket Council. It will feature six franchises in the shape of Punjabi Legends, Pakhtoons, Maratha Arabians, Bengal Lions, Team Sri Lanka Cricket and Kerala Kings.

Pakistan’s Sarfraz Ahmed, Shahid Afridi and Shoaib Malik (pictured); along with England’s limited overs captain Eoin Morgan, India’s Virender Sehwag and Sri Lanka’s Dinesh Chandimal, have been selected to lead the respective teams.