Star India picks up rights to Cricket All-Stars Series – report

Pay-television broadcaster Star India has reportedly acquired rights to the Cricket All-Stars Series 2015, a new Twenty20 tournament backed by India and Australia legends Sachin Tendulkar and Shane Warne.

The indiantelevision.com website said Star will broadcast the tournament, which is being hosted in the US and will feature retired stars of the sport, in India.

Cricket All-Stars Series 2015 has been over a year in the making and will be held from November 7-14 at New York’s Citi Field, Houston's Minute Maid Park and Los Angeles’ Dodger Stadium. The three-match exhibition series will feature more than two dozen retired international stars from Test-playing nations.

Apart from the captains, whose teams are named ‘Sachin's Blasters’ and ‘Warne's Warriors’, the likes of Tendulkar’s (pictured) fellow Indians Virender Sehwag, Sourav Ganguly and VVS Laxman are scheduled to take part.