Cricket Australia launches overseas rights tender

Cricket Australia has opened a tender process for rights to a number of the country’s national team and domestic league properties in the US, Canada and the Caribbean for the five-year period covering the 2016-17 to 2020-21 seasons.

The Australian national team schedule for the next five years includes matches against England, India and/or South Africa each season; the 2017-18 Ashes tour against England; 29 Tests against India, South Africa, Sri Lanka, New Zealand and Pakistan; 37 one-day internationals and 15 Twenty20 games.

Broadcasters in the three regions can also seek to acquire rights to the Big Bash League and Women’s Big Bash League domestic T20 competitions.

Interested parties can bid on behalf of as many territories as they like, and choose between, or acquire both of, the two available packages in each territory.

Package One comprises men’s T20 internationals, BBL and WBBL games, women’s internationals and Cricket Australia programming. Package Two features men’s Test matches, men’s ODIs and Cricket Australia programming.

Interested parties must submit offers to Cricket Australia by 5pm GMT on May 16.