BBC retains Rugby League World Cup rights

UK public-service broadcaster the BBC has secured rights to the 2021 Rugby League World Cup national team tournament.

The BBC will broadcast live coverage of all 31 matches during the competition, which will take place in England.

A minimum of 16 games will feature on the broadcaster’s BBC One or BBC Two channels, with the remaining matches to be shown via the interactive Red Button service and the BBC Sport website.
The BBC is also due to broadcast coverage of this year’s tournament, which will take place in Australia, New Zealand and Papua New Guinea from October 26 to December 2.