Caribbean Premier League secures rights deals

The Caribbean Premier League has secured a series of rights deals for this year’s edition of the Twenty20 cricket tournament.

Willow TV, a cricket-dedicated broadcaster in the United States, will show live coverage of 34 matches during the competition, including the four games that are scheduled to take place in Lauderhill, Florida.

Coverage will be shown on the Willow television channel and the broadcaster’s website. In addition, Willow TV will live stream four matches via its official page on social media platform Facebook.

Meanwhile, media company Sony Pictures Sports Network (SPSN) has acquired exclusive rights to the tournament in the Indian sub-continent.

SPSN will televise coverage of matches in countries such as Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Nepal, the Maldives and Sri Lanka.

Sri Lankan cricket legend Kumar Sangakkara (pictured) is the captain of reigning CPL champion Jamaica Tallawahs.

SPSN has also acquired digital rights for the CPL and will live stream matches in Afghanistan via its SonyLIV digital platform.

In addition, the CPL announced it will stream live the first three overs of every innings to audiences in India via its official page on social media platform Facebook.