EXCLUSIVE: Premier League to receive bids in 10 European markets

The English Premier League is to receive bids from broadcasters in 10 European territories today, TV Sports Markets understands.

Bids are due between 12pm and 2pm UK time today. Winning bidders will be awarded rights for three seasons, from 2016-17 to 2018-19.

The Premier League is not willing to consider bids from an agency whose intention is to sell on the rights. Only an agency which is to launch a channel (or channels) is allowed to bid.

The 10 territories are:
·         Belgium (plus non-exclusive rights in Luxembourg)
·         France and Monaco (plus non-exclusive rights in Andorra, Luxembourg and Switzerland)
·         Germany, Austria and Liechtenstein (plus non-exclusive rights in Luxembourg and Switzerland)
·         Greece
·         Iceland
·         Italy, San Marino and the Vatican City (plus non-exclusive rights in Switzerland)
·         Netherlands
·         Poland
·         Portugal, Azores and Madeira
·         Spain (plus non-exclusive rights in Andorra)

The package for France and Monaco also includes rights in overseas French-speaking territories. These are: French Guiana, French Polynesia, Guadeloupe, Guyana, Haiti, Madagascar, Martinique, Mauritius, Mayotte, New Caledonia, Réunion, Saint Barthélemy, Saint Martin and the Wallis and Futuna Islands.