Raft of broadcasters sign up for 2014 International Champions Cup

International Champions Cup organiser Relevent Sports has agreed broadcast deals across a host of territories for the 2014 edition of the annual US-based club football competition.

The StarTimes group has secured the 2014 International Champions Cup media rights for the territory of sub-Saharan Africa. The multi-platform rights package includes all matches on a live basis, as well as highlights on both pay and terrestrial free-to-air television.

Football fans in Indonesia can watch the tournament’s coverage including the best moments of all matches on free-to-air channel Indosiar and its affiliated pay-television service Nexmedia.

In the territory of Canada, Rogers’ Sportsnet pay-television channels will offer live match and highlights coverage.

In Greece, pay-television broadcaster Novasports will enable Olympiacos fans to watch their team play AC Milan, Liverpool and Manchester City, whilst all other fixtures will also be televised live. Novasports will complement their live broadcast by showing highlights after each round of matches.

Portuguese pay-television channel Sport TV has acquired media rights exclusively for the territory of Portugal, while pay-television broadcaster Charlton has done likewise for the Israeli market.

Arena Sport will show the matches as well as highlights of the International Champions Cup in the Balkan territories of Serbia, Croatia, Bosnia, Montenegro, Macedonia and Slovenia. In Albania and Kosovo, Digitalb-owned pay-television service SuperSport will provide coverage of all games and will also broadcast highlights shows after each round.

Icelandic media group 365 Media has secured the multi-platform rights of the 2014 tournament for Iceland. Both live matches and highlights will be available on their sports channels.

Matches in the 2014 International Champions Cup will take place across North America in New York, Chicago, Dallas, Denver, Philadelphia, Washington D.C., Pittsburgh, Minneapolis, Charlotte, Phoenix and Ann Arbor.

The 2014 tournament runs from July 24 to August 4. English Premier League clubs Manchester United, Manchester City and Liverpool; Spanish Liga club Real Madrid; Italian Serie A clubs AC Milan, Inter Milan and AS Roma; and Greek Super League club Olympiacos will all compete.