Sky picks up Caribbean Premier League rights

Pay-television broadcaster Sky has acquired rights in the UK and Ireland to cricket’s Caribbean Premier League.

Sky Sports will show all 34 matches live from this year’s edition of the Twenty20 tournament, which runs from August 8 to September 16. Coverage will be shown on Sky Sports’ dedicated cricket channel.

Pay-television broadcaster BT Sport held UK rights to the CPL last year. BT Sport also held rights to the competition in 2014 and 2015, but the 2016 tournament was exclusively shown by free-to-air entertainment channel Dave.

This year’s CPL will feature the likes of Chris Gayle, Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Dwayne Bravo and Kieron Pollard.