Eurosport enhances Vuelta a España deal

International sports broadcaster Eurosport has expanded its rights agreement for the Vuelta a España cycling event.

Under the revised five-year deal, which covers the 2016 to 2020 editions of the grand tour, Eurosport will broadcast a minimum of three hours of live coverage each day. It had previously broadcast two hours a day.

The event will continue to be shown exclusively across certain markets in Europe and Asia as part of the deal, which now includes all weekday and first-hour exclusive coverage in the Netherlands, first-hour exclusive coverage in Portugal and first-hour exclusive coverage on weekdays in Australia.

Eurosport’s plans for the 2016 race, which takes place from August 20 to September 11, include further localised production based on riders from specific countries. It will continue to fully produce stages and additional content for viewers in the Netherlands.

Eurosport’s coverage is non-exclusive in Australia, Belgium, Denmark, the Netherlands, Norway and Portugal, while its coverage in Asia includes Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, South Korea, Sri Lanka, Taiwan and Vietnam.

The 2015 Vuelta a España was won by Italian rider Fabio Aru (pictured).