HomeNewsCricketIndian Subcontinent

Sony renews rights for Abu Dhabi T10 League

Indian pay-television broadcaster Sony Pictures Networks has acquired rights for the 2019 edition of the Abu Dhabi T10 League cricket tournament, taking place November 14-24.

All 29 matches from the tournament will be shown live across the Sony Six and Sony Ten 3 channels. Live coverage will also be streamed on the SonyLIV and Jio TV OTT and mobile services.

It is the third successive year that Sony has acquired the rights. Rajesh Kaul, chief revenue officer and head of sports business at the broadcaster said, “The T10 League is extremely engaging and its fast-paced format has attracted a loyal following across demographics since its inaugural edition on Sony Pictures Networks in 2017.”

The T10 League involves a shortened, 10-over version of cricket in which games take no longer than 90 minutes. It has eight teams whose branding and players mostly hail from the Indian subcontinent, but stars from the major cricket nations around the world also take part. It was launched in 2017 in Sharjah in the United Arab Emirates by billionaire Indian businessman Shaji Ul Mulk, via his company T10 Sports Management. Last year, it received International Cricket Council approval, and agreed a five-year deal, beginning this year, to move to Abu Dhabi’s Zayed Cricket Stadium.

Announcing the Sony rights deal, Ul Mulk said: “This is a very fast format and I’m sure children will take a liking towards the league. It is like watching a football match, the action is over in 90 minutes and there is a lot of drama and entertainment. It is the next big thing in the world of cricket.”