HomeNewsFootballUnited Kingdom

BBC and ITV divide up World Cup games

UK public-service broadcaster the BBC and commercial broadcaster ITV have confirmed the split of matches for their coverage of the 2014 Fifa World Cup, with the BBC set to televise England’s first match of the international football tournament in Brazil.

The BBC will show England v Italy on June 14. Fifa last week moved the match in the Amazonian jungle city of Manaus forward by three hours to 6pm local time, but stressed that the decision was likely to have little effect on the difficult playing conditions. Instead, it avoided what would have been a 2am start for television viewers in England and a 3am kick-off for fans in Italy.

ITV will show England’s next two group games against Uruguay and Costa Rica. The BBC will have first pick of the round of 16 and semi finals, whilst ITV has first pick of the quarter finals. Both ITV and the BBC will show the World Cup final, which will take place at the Maracana in Rio de Janeiro on July 13.

ITV will show the opening match of the tournament between hosts Brazil and Croatia on June 12, while the BBC starts with Spain v Holland, a repeat of the 2010 World Cup final on June 13.

Most recent

Fox Sports Asia’s desire to reduce its spend on rights to The Open in Asia-Pacific opened the door for OTT platform GolfTV to grab non-exclusive rights alongside the pay-television broadcaster.

Greek pay-television broadcaster Nova has paid a premium to renew its exclusive rights to EuroLeague and EuroCup basketball in Greece and Cyprus, SportBusiness Media understands, marking a second consecutive fee increase for the European tournament’s rights in the territory.

Nordic Entertainment (Nent) Group has once again blown away competition from Nordic public-service broadcasters for winter sports content, acquiring exclusive rights to International Skating Union events from the Infront agency.

The English Premier League was a benefactor of sterling’s decline in the wake of the UK’s decision to leave the European Union in June 2016.