Six Nations to go OTT in Asia with RugbyPass

OTT platform RugbyPass has acquired exclusive rights across Asia for the Six Nations international rugby union tournament.

The deal, which spans 23 territories in Asia, will begin with the start of the 2018 Six Nations, which gets underway on February 3 with Wales hosting Scotland. The other participants in the Six Nations are England, France, Ireland and Italy.

RugbyPass will provide live and on-demand coverage of every Six Nations contest. Fans will be able to watch the action live, on a delayed basis or as condensed highlights across any connected device.

The OTT platform already has rights to a number of other rugby union properties, including Super Rugby and the Rugby Championship in the southern hemisphere, as well as the English Premiership, European Champions Cup, French Top 14 and European Pro 14.

RugbyPass is available in Bangladesh, Bhutan, Brunei, Cambodia, China, East Timor, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Laos, Macau, Malaysia, Maldives, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan, Philippines, Singapore, South Korea, Sri Lanka, Taiwan, Thailand and Vietnam.

The length of the deal has not been disclosed, but it will cover at least the 2018 edition of the competition. The agreement was brokered by the MP & Silva agency.

MP & Silva acquired the rights in a number of territories across Asia from the Pitch International agency in a four-year deal, from 2018 to 2021. The deal covers: China, Japan, South Korea, Indonesia, Malaysia, Brunei, Thailand, Singapore, Cambodia, Laos, Macau, Myanmar, North Korea, Philippines, Taiwan, Vietnam, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Mongolia, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Hong Kong and East Timor.