Eurosport converts Six Nations rights in Asia

International sports broadcaster Eurosport has acquired rights in a host of Asian markets to the 2017 Six Nations rugby union tournament.

Under the agreement, Eurosport will broadcast exclusive live and delayed coverage of the tournament, as well as highlights programmes, to a number of countries. The coverage will be shown across multiple platforms.

Eurosport’s parent company, US media and entertainment company Discovery Communications, will also make the content accessible across its portfolio of services, including Rugby Pass, an online sports platform available in 23 Asian countries.

Eurosport’s coverage will be made available exclusively in Brunei, Cambodia, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Macau, Maldives, Mongolia, Mauritius, Myanmar, North Korea, Philippines, Seychelles Islands, South Korea, Taiwan, Tajikistan, Timor Leste, Thailand and Vietnam. It will also provide non-exclusive English-language coverage in China.

Peter Hutton, chief executive of Eurosport, said: “The agreement is a further mark of how Eurosport is continuing to build beyond its core base in Europe, acquiring sought after rights in Asia where we can present coverage on Eurosport and other Discovery platforms.”

The 2017 Six Nations tournament will be held from February 4 to March 18.