HomeNewsGolfSouth-East Asia

GolfTV acquires Open Championship rights in Southeast Asia

Online streaming service GolfTV has picked up rights to golf’s Open Championship in Southeast Asia.

The multi-year deal begins with the 2019 Open Championship, which tees off this week, running from July 18-21.

Territories included in the deal are: Brunei; Cambodia; East Timor; Guam; Hong Kong; Indonesia; Laos; Macau; Malaysia; Micronesia; Mongolia; Myanmar; New Caledonia; Papua New Guinea; Philippines; Singapore; Taiwan; Thailand; and Vietnam.

Last year’s Open Championship was broadcast across Asia by pay-television broadcaster Fox Sports.

GolfTV will also broadcast archive content from the Open internationally, excluding the following territories: the US, United Kingdom, Ireland, Germany, Austria, Switzerland, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, South Tyrol, Italy, Vatican and San Marino, China and Japan.

GolfTV was launched in January by the joint venture between US media group Discovery and the PGA Tour.