W Series motorsports competition sells Asia, Africa, Oceania rights to inaugural season

W Series, the women’s motor-racing championship, has signed media rights deals covering its inaugural season across 35 territories in Asia, Africa and Oceania, it said Tuesday.

Fox Sports Asia will broadcast all W Series races on pay-television channels across 16 territories in Asia, including China, South Korea, Indonesia, the Philippines, Hong Kong, Thailand, Vietnam, Cambodia and Singapore.

In sub-Saharan Africa, the rights-holder sold free-to-air and mobile rights in 17 territories including Nigeria, Ethiopia, Botswana, Kenya, Ghana, South Africa, Tanzania, Uganda, and Zimbabwe.

In Oceania, SBS in Australia will broadcast races free-to-air via app and on-line, and in New Zealand, Sky NZ will broadcast races and highlights.

These deals were facilitated by the Pitch International agency, which W-Series appointed last week to market its global media rights.

UK broadcaster Channel 4 and Nordic broadcaster Nent have already agreed deals to broadcast the six-race competition in their respective territories.

The season starts at Hockenheim, Germany on May 4 and finishes at Brands Hatch on August 11.

Most recent

Match-choice restrictions placed by Spain’s LaLiga on the free-to-air package in its UK and Ireland rights tenders for the 2019-22 cycle may limit interest from broadcasters, according to industry experts spoken to by SportBusiness Media.

Pay-television broadcaster BT Sport took advantage of Sky’s long-running concerns over wrestling body WWE’s OTT service to grab WWE rights in the UK and Ireland from its rival at a steep discount, SportBusiness Media understands.

As TikTok has grown into one of the world's most popular social-media apps during the past year, the short-form video-sharing platform has become an important tool for sports rights-holders to expand and engage their fanbases. 

Turkish agency Saran has negotiated a price reduction for rights to the English Premier League for the 2019-22 cycle, SportBusiness Media understands, the first time it has achieved this since acquiring the property at the turn of the decade.